CMAs are well-respected accounting and finance professionals whose knowledge and expertise has allowed them to gain leadership influence, career advancements, and ultimately higher incomes. To obtain a CMA credential, a candidate is required to pass a two-part exam.

The two exams are an integral part of the CMA curriculum and include highly targeted topics as follows:

Part 1 – Financial Planning, Performance and Control

  • Performance management
  • Cost management
  • Internal controls
  • Professional ethics

Part 2 – Financial Decision Making

  • Financial statement analysis
  • Corporate finance
  • Decision analysis and risk management
  • Investment decisions
  • Professional ethics

Each exam is 4 hours long in which you need to answer 100 multiple choice questions, and two 30-minute essay questions. The two-part exam can be taken in any order. I took part 2 first, and part 1 second.

Candidates must register to take one exam part within the first 12 months of entering the program and must complete both exam parts within three years.

For an in-depth explanation of what is expected of you to know to pass the exam on your first try, get a copy of the CMA Coach Study Guide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *